Both.news
Donate
Story AnalysisWorldNews report

160 people reported killed in escalating drone attacks across Sudan

Rights groups warn increasing attacks by unmanned aircraft are targeting civilians and infrastructure.

Al JazeeraPublished Analyzed on October 20, 2026

This page is Both News's AI analysis of the article, not the article itself. Read the full story on the publisher's site.

Our verdict

Political lean

Center
◀ Left 10Center10 Right ▶

0 = center. The further from 0, the stronger the lean (max 10).

Reporting balance

59
Somewhat one-sided
59 / 100

How complete and even-handed the reporting is — separate from which side it leans.

The article is broadly even-handed: it reports UN condemnation without naming a perpetrator, notes RSF silence on the dam claim, and gives casualty figures with their sources. Its main weakness is that the deadliest strike (Al-Dibab) is attributed to the army only by the RSF-run Tasis and a rights group, with no army response, and the 160-death headline is not itemised. Readers should check the army's position and independent tolls before accepting the attribution or the 'escalating' framing.

Why this lean
The article presents the strikes as a shared catastrophe: it names both RSF and government forces as blamed, quotes UN condemnation that does not name a perpetrator, and reports the RSF's no-comment on the dam claim. The lean is not clearly directional. The main imbalance is evidential rather than partisan. The only specific attribution of blame for the deadliest attack (Al-Dibab) comes from the RSF-run Tasis and Emergency Lawyers, and no army response is reported. The photo caption's war-crimes context points only at the RSF, which tilts the context slightly even though the body is even-handed.
Framing
The story treats the drone campaign as a humanitarian crisis that kills civilians, with the central question being the scale of civilian casualties and who is responsible.

Confidence: Medium — The article is a short, standard news report with complete attribution, but the casualty totals and the attribution of responsibility cannot be checked against independent data, and the army's position is unknown. The assessment relies on what the text contains.

Key Findings

  1. 1The attribution for the deadliest attack comes from one side: 'The RSF's self-declared administration, known as Tasis, and Emergency Lawyers accused the army of carrying out the attack.' The army's response is not reported, and the text does not say whether it was requested.
  2. 2The lede blames both sides without naming a source: 'The attacks were blamed on both the paramilitary Rapid Support Forces (RSF) and government forces.' The passive construction hides who made the accusation and who was accused for which attack.
  3. 3Sourcing is partly anonymous or single-network: 'medics', 'a military source', 'medical and RSF sources' and 'a medical source' are unnamed, and Emergency Lawyers is cited for three separate incidents. The reader cannot check these claims.
  4. 4The 160-death headline is not itemised. The body's named incidents (80 + 30 + 17 + 41 + 3 children) total about 170, but the article never states that the 160 figure is a sum, and 'escalating' is not backed by any trend data.
  5. 5The UN condemnation is balanced in that it names no perpetrator: 'We are alarmed by the continued deadly drone strikes across the country that are killing civilians, including children', and the RSF's no-comment on the dam claim is reported. These are positive signs of even-handed reporting.
  6. 6The photo caption adds the UN war-crimes finding and the El Fasher killings, both attributed to the RSF, but the body does not mention any findings about army conduct. The reader gets the RSF-specific accusation without the same scrutiny applied to the army.

Who gets a voice

  • Emergency Lawyers
    Rights group that monitors violence against civilians; cited for the Khartoum, Blue Nile and Al-Dibab accounts
    Civilian-protection monitorMain voice
  • Tasis (RSF's self-declared administration)
    Accused the army of the Al-Dibab attack
    RSF-aligned authorityMain voice
  • Stephane Dujarric
    UN Secretary-General's spokesperson condemning the strikes
    United NationsMain voice
  • Medics and medical workers (unnamed)
    Source of the 160 total and the Al-Dibab and Al-Mujlad casualty figures
    Health respondersMinor voice
  • Residents of Al-Dibab (unnamed)
    Described the transport hub attack and the 80 deaths
    Local civiliansMinor voice
  • Military source (unnamed)
    Said air defences intercepted RSF drones targeting the Atbara and Setit dams
    Army/government side, anonymousMinor voice
  • Medical and RSF sources (unnamed)
    Gave the Nyala toll of 17 dead, including seven RSF officers
    RSF-side and medical, anonymousMinor voice
  • ACLED (conflict monitor)
    Source of the at-least-59,000 death toll
    Independent conflict dataMinor voice

Loaded language

“stronghold”→ base, or the city controlled by the RSF

Frames Nyala as a military base, which could justify the strike in the reader's eyes.

“humanitarian tragedy”→ civilian deaths (attributed to Emergency Lawyers)

Emotive label from one source, adopted without qualification in the surrounding text.

“escalating”→ increasing (with figures showing the trend)

Implies a clear trend that the article does not demonstrate with data.

“paramilitary”→ armed group (RSF)

Accurate but signals the RSF's non-state status more than the army's; the army is labelled only 'government forces' or 'the army'.

Dimension Breakdown

Source Diversity6/10

Multiple parties are cited (medics, rights group, RSF-run administration, UN, ACLED, AFP), but most sources are anonymous or come from one side's network, and the army is never heard. Emergency Lawyers is used repeatedly as the main monitor.

Language Neutrality7/10

Mostly plain wording, with attribution for most claims. Terms like 'stronghold' for Nyala and 'humanitarian tragedy' (attributed to Emergency Lawyers) are mildly partisan, but the body avoids labelling either side as perpetrator.

Data Balance6/10

Casualty figures are sourced to specific groups (AFP, Emergency Lawyers, ACLED), and ACLED is noted as an undercount ('Aid groups say the actual toll is likely higher'). However, the headline total of 160 is not itemised, and the attacker-attribution numbers are not checked by any independent party.

Perspective Completeness5/10

The army or government is not quoted, and no response is reported on the Al-Dibab accusation made by Tasis and Emergency Lawyers, although the attack is central to the story.

Headline Accuracy7/10

The 160 figure and 'drone attacks across Sudan' match the body. 'Escalating' is an overstatement: the body gives no trend data and only the general claim of 'growing numbers' of casualties.

Context Sufficiency7/10

Background covers the 2023 origin, the death sentence for Hemedti, 59,000 deaths, 13 million displaced and food needs. The drone-specific trend and the use of drones by both parties are not explained, and the war-crimes finding appears only in the caption.

Missing Perspectives

  • The Sudanese army or government, which is accused of the Al-Dibab strike and blamed for the wider attacks. Their denial or explanation, or a statement that none was obtained, is needed for balance.
  • Independent verification of the casualty figures, such as UN OCHA, a field team or an independent monitor, rather than medics and an advocacy monitor; this matters because the 160 total underpins the headline.
  • Context on drone use by both parties during the war, including whether reports from the UN or other monitors have documented army drone strikes. Without it, 'escalating' has no baseline and the reader cannot judge which side is responsible for the trend.

Highlighted Passages

“The RSF’s self-declared administration, known as Tasis, and Emergency Lawyers accused the army of carrying out the attack.”
The only attribution of blame for the deadliest strike comes from the RSF-run administration and a rights group, and the army's response is not reported.
“The attacks were blamed on both the paramilitary Rapid Support Forces (RSF) and government forces,”
The passive construction hides who made the accusation, so the reader cannot judge the claim's source or basis.
“A wave of drone attacks across Sudan has killed more than 160 people in recent days, according to medics and rights groups.”
The headline figure rests on unnamed medics and rights groups and is not itemised, though the headline presents it as established.
“6,000 people were reportedly killed by the RSF in the space of three days in October.”
This caption adds RSF-specific war-crimes context that is absent for the army, creating a one-sided impression in the photo context.

Key Facts

  • According to medics and rights groups, drone attacks across Sudan have killed more than 160 people in recent days.
  • According to Emergency Lawyers, drone attacks on Khartoum killed three children on Monday.
  • Residents and medical workers said a drone hit a transport hub in Al-Dibab, West Kordofan, killing 80 people on Sunday evening.
  • A medical source told AFP that 30 of the 47 wounded taken to Al-Mujlad later died.
  • Tasis and Emergency Lawyers accused the army of carrying out the Al-Dibab attack.
  • A military source said air defences intercepted several RSF drones targeting the Atbara and Setit dams in Gadaref state.
  • According to medical and RSF sources, a drone attack on Nyala killed 17 people, including seven RSF officers.
  • According to ACLED, the conflict has killed at least 59,000 people; aid groups say the true toll is likely higher.
Read the original articleAl Jazeera · aljazeera.com
160 people reported killed in escalating drone attacks across Sudan · aljazeera.com — Both News